SHSHL Playoff Ponderings

Next week, the Suburban High School Hockey League will begin its 46th postseason.  The league has been able to account for 43 of its past 45 Class AA champions; we are still working to determine the champions for the 1995-96 and 2006-07 seasons. Class A champions have been accounted for from 2004-05 to the present with efforts ongoing to identify champions from 2003-04 and earlier, if available.

That said, here are some historical notes to pass along as the postseason nears.

Most Class AA Titles

11—Germantown Academy: 1980-83, 1993-95, 1998-2001

8—Central Bucks South: 2005, 2010, 2012, ’13, 2015-18

6—Abington: 1974-76, 1978, 2003, ‘04

Council Rock: 1984, 1987-89, 1991, 1997


* Abington also won the championship of the league that played out of Wintersport Arena during the 72-73 season. What was then called the Suburban Collegiate High School Hockey League played its first season in 1973-74.

The Suburban High School Hockey League filed for non-profit status on August 22, 1975.

* Council Rock played for the championship in 1990. The result of that game has not been documented.




Most consecutive Class AA titles

4—Central Bucks South 2015-18

Germantown Academy 1980-83 and 1998-2001


Most Class A Titles

2—Wissahickon: 2010, 2015

Archbishop Wood 2013, 2017,

Upper Moreland 2012, 2014


Note: The championships of 2003, 2004, and 2007 are still being documented

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s