More Flyers Cup History

The first Flyers Cup tournament was played in 1980. It featured just four teams.

All games were played at the University of Pennsylvania’s Class of 1923 rink, which was less than a decade old at the time and was home to the university’s NCAA Division I hockey team.



Archbishop Carroll def. Archbishop Ryan

Malvern Prep def. Germantown Academy in overtime

The winners advanced to a best-of-three final

Game 1 – Malvern 6, Carroll 5

Game 2 – Carroll 7, Malvern 3

Game 3 – Carroll 6, Malvern 2

Our thanks to Rob Bear of the Philadelphia Flyers for providing this information


MVP: Scott Chamness, Carroll (four hat tricks in four games)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s