SHSHL Reveals Divisional Alignments

The opening of the 2019-20 scholastic hockey season is drawing closer. With that fact in mind, the Suburban High School Hockey League has finalized its divisional alignments for the coming year. A total of 18 teams will skate under the SHSHL umbrella this season.

Thirteen teams will be classified as Class AA and divided into two divisions. The Continental Division will consist of defending Class AA Champion Pennridge, Central Bucks South, Central Bucks East, Central Bucks West, North Penn, Souderton, and newcomer Quakertown.

The National Division will include Abington, Council Rock South, Neshaminy, Pennsbury, William Tennent, and Council Rock North, which is returning to the SHSHL and Class AA this year after playing as an impure team last season because of a player shortage.

The 13 Class AA teams will all face each other once in league play. If the same playoff format is followed that was utilized last year, divisional alignments will be meaningless; the top eight teams will qualify for the playoffs regardless of division.


The Class A American Division will feature five teams, headed by defending champion Wissahickon. The Trojans will be joined by Hatboro-Horsham, Plymouth Whitemarsh, Lower Moreland, and Truman, which is moving down from Class AA. Upper Dublin will not be skating in the SHSHL this season.

The five American Division teams will play each other three times each, making for a 12-game league season. Four teams will qualify for the playoffs.

The official start date of the SHSHL campaign is still to be announced.


If you would like to promote your product or service on this site, please e-mail us HERE