Counting Down to the SHSHL Season

Sixteen teams will skate under the Suburban High School Hockey League umbrella during the 2022-23 season. 

The new season will commence on Wednesday, November 2 with 12 teams skating in the National Division (Class AA) and five more competing in the Class A American Division.

The National Division will feature defending league, Flyers Cup, and state champion Pennridge along with Bensalem, Council Rock North, Council Rock South, Central Bucks East, Central Bucks West, Central Bucks South Neshaminy, North Penn, Pennsbury, and Souderton.

Defending champion Abington heads the American Division which will also include Plymouth Whitemarsh, Quakertown, Wissahickon, and newcomer Springfield (Montco).

Teams will not necessarily be in the same classifications for the regular season and the Flyers Cup tournament.

Hatboro-Horsham and William Tennent, which both skated in the American Division a year ago, have combined forces this year and will skate against American Division opponents. The team will play a full league schedule but their results will not be reflected in the standings, nor will they be eligible for the SHSHL playoffs or the Flyers Cup tournament.

20222-23 marks the SHSHL’s 50th season. The league as it is known now made its debut in 1973-74, coincidentally the same 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s